Return to Team




February 2017 – Present     

Having a BSc in Psychology (Honours), my interest primarily lies in understanding the psychological, social and biological determinants of health; specifically, identifying risk factors and protective factors from biological and psychosocial perspectives and understanding how these factors interact to influence well being. I joined the Mucsi-Novak Kidney Health Education and Research Group in February 2017 to learn more about the psychosocial barriers to kidney transplant in Canada.


February 2017 – Present

As a recent graduate from University of Toronto specializing in Neuroscience and majoring in Psychology, my interests lie predominantly in delineating psychosocial determinants on mental health and physiological wellbeing. To this end, I hope to help contribute towards a tangible and lasting change improving healthcare and public health education. 


November 2017 – Present

I am a fourth-year student completing majors in Pharmacology and Statistics at University of Toronto. My interests include statistical models of dose-response relationship, longitudinal study and survival analysis. Being a biostatistician is my future career goal and I am planning to pursue a biostatistics master degree. I am honored to be a member of the data team and willing to devote myself and learn more practical skills.


January 2018 – Present

I am a healthcare administration professional with experience spanning from operations to strategy. My major areas of experience are; Medical Policy Analysis, Project Management, Strategic Planning, Operations Handling and Quality Management. I have a specific interest in Organ Donation and feel strongly about it. Being a part of this team allows me to work towards my passion – Organ Donation, as well as my professional choice- Project Management.


May 2017 – Present

I have recently graduated with a Bachelor’s of Medical Sciences with an HSP in Physiology from Western University. My primary interests lie in learning about the functioning of the human body. I have worked in the past on understanding the mechanisms through which atrial fibrillation develops. Within the Mucsi lab, I am very interested in learning about the barriers that exist within healthcare and to experience research in a clinical setting. I hope to pursue a career in medicine in the future.


September 2018 – Present

I am currently a second year graduate student at Brock University in the Masters of Applied Health Sciences program (MSc Epidemiology). I received my bachelors degree in Honours Kinesiology from McMaster University. My research is focused on Epidemiology, specifically evaluating if risk prediction models for Lung Cancer would increase the selection of high-risk individuals for Lung Cancer Screening. The end goal is to improve and validate a popular lung cancer risk prediction model made by my supervisor, the PLCOm2012 model, and to use it as part of Ontarios Public Health program in order to reduce the overall burden of this disease. I look forward to enhancing my biostatistical analysis skills and as well to gain experience in clinical research whilst working with everyone in the Musci-Novak Kidney Health Education and Research Group.


February 2017 – Present 

“Learning is its own exceeding great reward.” ―William Hazlitt
I am a Clinical Research Professional. I was an International Medical Graduate with specialist certification in Orthopaedic Surgery in Nigeria prior to moving to Canada to obtain a Postgraduate Diploma in Clinical Research. My research interests include the effect of chronic diseases on bone health and mineralization, patient reported quality of life indices, research data management and statistical analysis.As part of my activities in the Research unit, I participate in preparation of research protocols and submission for institutional approval, statistical analysis of research, database creation and management and medical writing for publication.I believe in giving something back to society. This belief has paved my path through life, and is a large part of what defines me. I try to improve the state of orthopaedic surgical research in my home country Nigeria in any way I can, collaborating with colleagues to generate research that adds to the general knowledge of diseases as it affects the Nigerian patient.The search for knowledge is a lifelong journey for me. I intend to pursue Graduate Studies in Medical Science with a focus on the use of Epidural Steroids in the management of lumbar spine canal stenosis. I hope that my contribution to knowledge in this field will help make surgical waiting times for back surgery more bearable for patients.


May 2018 – Present

I completed an MSc in Applied Mathematics at Western University in late 2014 and have since worked in different roles as a research associate, data analyst and programmer. Presently, I work for a consulting firm in Toronto as a programmer, primarily for data management, visualization and report generation. I have great interest in learning more and contributing towards the use of data and statistical thinking in driving decision making. I have joined the Kidney Health Education and Research Group as a data analyst and am looking forward to continuously learning more about, and contributing towards research on the experiences and outcomes of kidney transplant patients and donors.


June 2017 – Present

I expect to graduate in November 2017 with a double major in Statistics and Economics and a minor in African Studies from the University of Toronto. I moved from Kenya to Toronto after being awarded a scholarship with MasterCard Foundation based on my excellent performance in high school, exemplary leadership capabilities and interest in community. I am interested in big data and plan to pursue a masters in Applied statistics in future.


May 2017 – Present

I am currently a student at the University of Toronto double majoring in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Immunology and Disease with a minor in French. My research interests include understanding the psychosocial factors involved in kidney transplantation and helping to improve healthcare accessibility through educational resources. In the future, I hope to pursue a career in medicine.


July 2017 – Present 

I am currently a fourth year undergraduate student at the University of Toronto, double majoring in Sociology and Employment Relations. From my previous sociology studies of mental health, and reproduction and new medical technologies, I realized how social resources, such as the accesses to health care are unevenly distributed among social groups and classes. Joining this research team allows me to identify the socioeconomic, psychosocial and cultural barriers that prevent people, especially Canadian Chinese communities, from participating in kidney transplant or organ donation, and develop an education system to remove them. I hope to become a social worker in the future.

Past Volunteers


February 2017 – August 2017

I am currently pursuing an Honours Bachelor of Science degree, at the University of Waterloo. At the University of Toronto, I am involved in several projects in the areas of biomedical engineering and biochemistry, researching circulating tumour cells and electrochemical sensors for nucleic acid detection. My research interests at the Mucsi – Novak Kidney Health Education and Research Group are to  learn about the barriers individuals face when accessing health care services and how psychosocial factors affect a patient’s overall health. Ultimately, I plan to pursue a career in medicine. 


May 2017 – August 2017

I am a fourth-year undergraduate student at Western University specializing in psychology. Broadly speaking, I am interested in the psychosocial determinants of health among the marginalized population within Canada and in low-to-middle income countries. Having lived in China for twelve years before immigrating to Canada, I am also interested in the mental wellbeing of China’s “left behind children”, as well as breaking down the stigma that East Asians may associate to mental disorders. I am very glad to join the Nefros team to help improve the living quality of Kidney patients. Outside of academics, I enjoy being involved in my local Church and following the Spurs on NBA.


error: Content is protected